top of page

Good Times in the Mile High City

The week before last started on an extremely high note. One of my Coworkers, Adam, invited all of my roommates over for a Sudanese feast on last Monday. Adam lives at Christ's Body full time along with a guy named George and Ed, who works with the respite patients. Adam is originally from Sudan and it has been a pleasure to get to know him and his amazing story. We had an awesome time sharing in community and enjoying Adam's delicious cooking. Walking back, four of us ran into a man named David who was kind enough to talk with us and share a little bit about his life. Despite being homeless for longer than I have been in existence, he stays amazingly positive saying "why complain, I've had an incredible life." It was one of the most enjoyable nights of the program so far.

I finally made it to a show at Red Rocks the Friday before last, which has been on my bucket list for a long time. I didn't know if I was going to get to go until Friday afternoon. I found a ticket online and hitched a ride to Morrison, CO with a stranger I met downtown. When I arrived, I was completely in awe of the beauty of the venue. It was a great day, too. The sun was shining, the temperature was perfect, and there was a full moon! Railroad Earth also played an incredible show. 15 minutes into their set, a small storm rolled in, the thunder matched the drums and the lighting added to the light show. The storm did not last long but it truly added to the experience. It was definitely one of the coolest shows I have ever been to and one that I will never forget.

I have never had a job that I have enjoyed like my internship at Christ's Body. It is so cool to see the refuge that it offers to the homeless of Denver. For a couple hours every day, they can escape from the streets sit, eat, relax, and enjoy each other's community. I'm starting to meet a lot more people and building deeper relationships with some of the regulars. I look forward to the conversations I get to have with these people on a daily basis. A man named Donald always has a good story to tell me and a man named Bobby always has some good advice to share. Last Wednesday, a man named Jason came in to Christ's Body. I had seen him several times before on my walk home, and I remember having some small talk before. When he came in last Wednesday, I sat down with him and he started telling me a little about his life. His addiction has cost him everything he once had and he told me if his addiction doesn't kill him the situations that he puts himself in for his addiction will. I didn't have a whole lot to give him besides sitting and listening to him. I haven't seen him since, Pastor Jim told me that he went to the detox center at the hospital. Earlier in the week I was talking with Josh about looking for Jesus on a daily basis, and last Wednesday I saw Jesus in Jason, a broken, ashamed, and defeated man. The way in which he carried his burden and brokenness gave me an idea what it might have been like for Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane the night before his crucifixion. Jesus' disciples fell asleep leaving him alone, much like the large majority of Jason's community have abandon him because of his addiction. Despite being dragged through the mud every day, treated like trash by so many people too preoccupied to give him a simple smile on the street, and losing everything that he had because a substance took control, their was hope for Jason.


bottom of page